First look at WhatsApp's View Once media feature
WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature to its beta client currently that enables users of the messaging service to send media that recipients may view once only.
Media, photos or video files, that users include in messages to others have no view limitation or expiration date in WhatsApp. Recipients may save media that is sent to them so that they can keep the image or video files indefinitely.
View Once is a new feature that gives senders more control over the media that they include in their messages. The feature landed in WhatsApp version 126.96.36.199.
It becomes visible on the "add a caption" and filters screen after you have selected media for sending. A new 1-icon is displayed on the right side of the caption field. Activate it to make the selected file a view once file.
WhatsApp displays an overlay on first use of the feature that explains the functionality.
Send photos and videos that can only be viewed once
For more privacy, your photo or video will disappear from chat after the recipient opens it once. Remember, people can always take screenshots.
The photo or video is deleted automatically by WhatsApp once it is opened by the user. View once works for individual chats and group chats. If you have enabled notifications, you will be informed when the media has been accessed by the recipient.
WhatsApp notes that using view once is not a 100% secure option to make sure that media is viewed once only and not saved. Users may capture screenshots of the media, or use another device to capture the "view-once" video or photo.
WhatsApp introduced a disappearing messages feature last year that users of the service may enable to have their messages deleted automatically after seven days. The feature can be enabled for individual contacts only by tapping on the name of the contact in WhatsApp chat and toggling the "disappearing messages" option on the preferences page that opens.
The view once feature will be introduced soon in non-beta versions of WhatsApp.
All WhatsApp users may use the view once media sending feature soon to limit the viewing of specific media. Will it become a popular feature? What is your take on it?Advertisement